Love Stories

It’s been aeons since Morris was the subject of my stories; what do you say I make him squirm by making him the center of attention (for just a little while) in this story? You will remember Morris from previous articles (or rather article) to be the guy that in shockingly a few years from now, will have to give an arm and a leg in exchange for a sparkly gemstone, get down on one knee, present the gemstone to me and ask if I will marry him. I, in turn, will gape in utter surprise, wipe a tear or two from these huge eyes of mine and obviously say yes. Okay, that’s just how that part plays out in my mind. Chances that it will actually happen that way? Umm, not so promising; seeing that the main character in this part of the movie (Morris) doesn’t understand why he should ask a question whose answer he already knows. Now that formalities of introductions are done away with, let’s get to the story. 

About two weeks ago, no, on Friday 10th March, 2017, to be exact, Morris lost his phone. “Lost his phone” is putting it rather mildly: it was actually snatched from him on one of those evenings when you are seated next to the window, in a taxi that is stuck in Kampala jam and your mind coaxingly whispers to you, “Now would be a really good time to check your whatsapp messages.” And because you are dead tired or because you’d rather not think at all, you get out your phone and forgetting the craftiness of Kampala thieves, hold it like you would if you were in your sitting room. Next thing you know, the phone has a new owner. I don’t know why I made the story long: I might have just said his phone was snatched while he sat in a taxi, at the seat next to the window and you would all have understood. Anyhow, let’s continue. 

So this is the situation right now;

Morris: has no phone

Me: constantly checking my phone’s dialled list and re-redialling Morris’ number, in the crazy hope that I will get a different response and then being disappointed allover again when it’s still the same old “the number you have called is not available at the moment, please try again later.” It’s frustrating, I tell you. I know its self inflicted frustration, but oh well, a girl can always hope. 

So the idea to write this article was a way of putting everything into perspective and a check to confirm that I still have a fully functional brain. See, I last talked to Morris three days ago but amazingly, it seems to me like I haven’t talked to him in over a month! Why do I feel this way? Well, because now I cannot call him randomly (or him randomly calling me) to just say “I love you”, I cannot text a “Goodmorning baby” or “Goodnight sweetheart” and expect a response. Yes, most of the time his reply is a simple “Goodmorning to you too” or “Goodnight to you too” but now I realize just important how those simple boring words are. I have not yet found the right word to describe just how much I miss Morris but I know it’s a whole lot! And I miss him this much because I have gotten used to communicating with him on a daily and taking that away from me, kind of leaves a vacuum(for lack of a better word). 

So why am I boring you with all these emotions of mine? Because if I am able to love a man this much, imagine just how much love God has for you and I. You think you treasure someone? Just think how much more God treasures you! You think you yearn to see someone you love so much? Just think how much God yearns to see you in His presence. Think how much He desires to hear your voice as you tell Him words of adoration and praise. Think how much He longs for you! 

I know that most times, we only say how much we love God and how much we yearn for His presence and His touch but the truth is, He loved us before we ever loved Him. He loved us way before we ever knew what love really is. And He still does! He loves and is in love with us. And as much as we love to be in His presence, He loves it even more. And as much as we desire for more of Him, He desires for more of us. And yes, when we stray from His presence, He misses us. When we neglect Him and act like we don’t know Him, it hurts Him. 

My message to you: The King of kings and Lord of lords is seriously, mindblowingly and eye-poppingly in love with you. Requite that love the best way you can: stay in His presence, allow Him to love on you, and by all means, talk to Him on a daily! 

10 thoughts on “Love Stories

  1. ehhhhhhhh my God Suzie u are heaven sent!! yo words echo the meditations and ponderings of the father’s heart! God is thy reward dear! And as for Morris, this babe is priceless!!!!!!!1

    Like

Leave a Reply

