In honour of Priscilla Chelangat

The birthday girl wearing her beautiful smile.

​So I have read quite a number of books from different authors and I know I am not yet one of the best writers to ever walk this earth; I am not even close to that yet, but God knows how often I dream, daydream and constantly fantasize about it. I believe it is for this reason that He (My Ever Awesome God) saw it fit to bring people like Chelangat Priscilla into my life. I prefer calling her Chelly, because it is so much easier than Chelangat or Priscilla. So yes, Chelly is one of those people, who by just being themselves, constantly gives me hope that perhaps my dream is not so big or as wild as I sometimes (rather, most times) fear it to be. From the first day Chelly got wind of the news that I had started a blog, she’s been there, at the sidelines, ferociously and relentlessly cheering me on and encouraging me to keep on keeping on. I often think of her and I am challenged to stretch out of my lazy shell and get to writing. And it is not because she constantly calls or texts to remind me to write, no. She’s done that only once or twice but since then, I have this paranoia (for lack of a better word) that she’s always some where in the shadows, watching me trying to give excuses when I should instead be writing. 

I met Chelly roughly eleven years ago, at the prestigious Mt. St. Mary’s Namagunga where we both stayed for the next six years. I was immediately drawn to her for the flimsiest of reasons: she was a Sabiny from Kapchorwa and my bestfriend from primary school was a Sabiny from Kapchorwa. Perhaps I thought making her my friend would in some way lessen the heartache I suffered at not being able to go to the same secondary school as my best friend; I cannot really tell. But become friends we did and I have not regretted it since. I do not claim that we are the closest of friends for that would be a gross lie, but I do know we go deeper than acquaintances and can thus conclude that we are friends. 

So this is what I know about Chelly: she’s a jolly girl with a smile so bright, it can literally light up one’s dark days. She is a kind hearted person with a heart of gold that is ready to help just about any and everyone. She believes the best of people and unlike many of us, is never quick to judge. She’s also really good at keeping time (she doesn’t suffer from that African lateness syndrome that many of us have). She is beautiful but most importantly about her, she loves and fears God and like the Bible says:

Beauty and Charm are deceptive, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised. [Proverbs 31:30]

Dearest Chelly, on this your birthday, allow me honour you the only way I can: with my words that I and my God know to be nothing but the truth. Thank you for being the huge blessing you are to me. Do not tire of cheering me on even though we both know this race might take awhile before we reach the finish line. I earnestly hope that you will become even friendlier, more amazing and more awesome as the years go by. Little Gaby is blessed to have you for a mum and I hope he will grow up holding you as dear as the treasure you are. And I pray that the Lord satisfies you with a long life full of joy, gladness, grace and love! 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHELLY! 

Much love, 

Me 🙂

9 thoughts on “In honour of Priscilla Chelangat

  1. Oh my wonderful God Suzie😢(am using this because I do not know of an emoji for tears of joy!). I’m indeed honoured. And speechless too!
    Thank you😊. You inspire me to keep bein awesome!

    Like

    1. You forgot her laugh and the way she tilts her head after laughing 😂😂😂😂😂😂. Am glad I got to know her and actually fight for Lisa Lenia’s books with her. May God continue to bless you dear

      Like

  2. Wow such a beautiful piece. I must confess I am such a lucky man to have her as a wife.
    Happy birthday to this wonderful woman. May you be showered by God’s blessings for the rest of your life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

